Honoring Our Nation's Leaders Since 1997
Your Subtitle text

The origin of the Ostrander Scholar Society dates to the Spring of 1997 when our Founder met National Order of the Arrow Vice Chief, Josh Sain. Mr. Sain was an inspiration to Mr. Ostrander, inspiring him to remain active in the Order of the Arrow and pursue leadership roles beyond the local level. In October of 1997, Mr. Sain passed away after an automobile accident at the age of 19.  Mr. Ostrander decided that something should be done to keep the spirit of Mr. Sain alive, and thus, the Josh Sain Memorial Scholarship © was created with the blessing and support of Mr. Sain’s family. The first scholarship was awarded in 1999 and interest in the scholarship program began to increase over time.
By 2005, it became clear that the scholarship was gaining more attention and the number of applicants would likely increase.  It was then decided that the program should operate as a non-profit organization to give the general public the option to support the scholarship with their donations. In 2007, Mr. Ostrander incorporated the organization as the Ostrander Scholar Society and established a Board of Directors to help manage its operations.  In March of 2011, the Internal Revenue Service determined that the Ostrander Scholar Society qualified as a 501(c)(3) tax exempt entity.
What makes the scholarship unique is that it’s a merit-based scholarship.  To date, over $4000 worth of merit-based scholarships have been provided for Eagle Scouts.

Josh Sain

Website Builder